The STIM organisation

STIM is a Swedish collective management organisation for music creators and publishers.

STIM is a non-profit member organisation tasked with ensuring that its more than 90,000 affiliated rightsholders and music publishers get paid when their music is used. We provide the conditions for creativity and regrowth in the Swedish music industry. It’s why STIM strives to ensure that there are strong copyright laws in place. 

On the behalf of its members, STIM administers and licenses performing and mechanical rights to music and lyrics. Through its international network, STIM also manages the rights to a global repertoire of music. 

STIMs statutes

Democracy is important to STIM. Writers, composers and music publishers affiliated to STIM can become full voting members of the Society. This gives you the right to attend and vote at STIM's annual general meeting. Read more about the statutes.


Karsten Dyhrberg Nielsen has been the CEO of STIM since 2014.

Top Management Positions within STIM

CFO – Jan-Christer Stoppel

COO – Mattias Wallman

General Counsel - Lisa Stålspets

Director Human Resources – Theres Annerstedt

Head of Members & Market – Peter Lindström

Head of PR & Communication – Eleonor Otterdahl

STIMs Board of Directors, Auditors and Election committee

STIM’s board of directors is tasked with continuously monitoring how the business is managed and making decisions on matters delegated by the Annual General Meeting. The board of directors consists of representatives from the rightsholder categories that STIM represents, i.e. members who are active in FST – The Swedish Society of Composers, SKAP – The Swedish Society of Songwriters, Composers and Authors, and Musikförläggarna – The Music Publishers, as well as independent members. The Chair of the board is independent. In addition, the board of directors includes STIM employee representatives

STIM:s board of directors - regular members
Carina Brorman

Chairman, Chairman of the AU, independent

Martin Jonsson Tibblin

First vice Chairman, Chairman of the AU, representing FST

Alfons Karabuda Chairman of the AU, representing SKAP
Kerstin Mangert

Second vice Chairman, representing Musikförläggarna

Dror Feiler Representing FST
Douglas Carr Representing SKAP
Anette Hökengren Representing Musikförläggarna
Linda Portnoff Independent
Hans Fahlin Independent
STIM:s board of directors - substitutes
Jenny Hettne Representing FST
Anders Wollbeck Representing SKAP
Lars Karlsson Representing Musikförläggarna
Eric Sjöström Independent
Stims styrelse - second substitutes
Johan Blixt Representing FST
Alexandra Nilsson Representing SKAP
Filiz Erat Edhlund Representing Musikförläggarna
Åsa Otterlund Regular
Stims styrelse - employee representatives
Eva Botmar Regular. Chairman of the AU
Susan Roberts Regular.
Viktor Sellgren Suppleant
Mikael Alenmark Suppleant
Håkan Reising (KPMG)
Hans Gefors
Ragnar Grippe, Deputy
Election Committee
Erik Peters, Chairman FST
Monica Törnell Independent
Fredrika Hörlin Independent
Thomas Lindahl SKAP
Rebecca Edwards Musikförläggarna
Contact the Election Committee:

Partners and organisations representing the different rightsholder categories

Organizations that STIM collaborates with:

  • ICE is jointly owned with STIM's British and German counterparts PRS and GEMA.
  • Svensk Musik is owned by STIM with a mission to document and inform about copyright-protected Swedish music.
  • NCB is owned by STIM and its counterparts in Denmark, Finland and Norway.
  • STIM's Council for the Promotion of Swedish Music is a committee working to provide the conditions for future creativity in the field of music.

Other companies and foundations:

  • BIEM is an organization for recording rights.
  • CISAC is The International Confederation of Authors and Composers Societies.
  • GESAC represents European creators in fields such as music, literature and visual arts.
  • WIPO  is a UN body that focus on copyright.