Nyhet11 November 2021
Every year since 1925, Stim has awarded scholarships to composers and songwriters who create music of high artistic quality. The ambition of the scholarships is to improve the music scene in Sweden and provide the best prerequisites for great musical diversity and growth. This year, a total of SEK 4 million in scholarships will be distributed among 143 recipients in SEK 10,000, SEK 25,000 and SEK 50,000 amounts.

Those offered scholarships represent a large number of music genres, spanning everything from folk, jazz and indie to electro, children's and classical music. Among those receiving grants include Jacob Mühlrad, Jason Diakité, Merit Hemmingson, Zikai, Rigmor Gustafsson, Simon Hassle, Anton Rundberg and Julia Karlsson. The full list can be found here.

This year, a total of 2,171 music creators applied for scholarships and submitted samples of their work this year that were then judged by a committee. The recipients represent an age range from 21 to 81 years, and come from Gargnäs in the north to Simrishamn in the south. 47% of the scholarship recipients are female.

“There is an incredible breadth of different genres, styles and expressions among this year's scholars. With STIM's grants we want to provide more songwriters, lyricists and composers with better conditions to be able to create the music they’re passionate about and give more people the opportunity to make a living from music. Diversity is the key to strengthening Swedish music and paving the way for the next generation of music creators,” says Casper Bjørner, CEO of Stim.

“This scholarship means a lot to me for many reasons. I feel grateful and well supported in my work. It also provides me with a much-needed respite which, in turn, provides space for creativity. I feel like composing more!” says Lisa Rydberg, composer, folk musician and one of the scholarship recipients.

Decisions about which composers and songwriters should receive Stim scholarships are made by the Stim board, following a proposal from the scholarship committee. The scholarships will be awarded on December 9 at the Stim Music Room in Stockholm.